

Meeting ID: 865 1389 8579

Present were: David J. Fill, II., Chair; Amy Parsons, Member; Jane Nevinsmith, Clerk; John

Waskiewicz, Member. Joyce Chunglo was absent.

Also present were: Carolyn Brennan, Town Administrator; Jennifer Sanders James, Assistant Procurement Officer; Dan Zdonek, Town Assessor; William Dwyer, Planning Board; Linda Sanderson, Town Treasurer; Susan Glowatsky, Town Collector; Mike Mason, Police Chief; Mitch Kuc, Police Lieutenant; Megan Healey, Hadley Police Department; Thomas Douglas, Police Officer: Rylan Baronas, Police Officer; Meghan Cahill, Police Department.

1. Call to Order - 6:00

1.1 Call to order

The Select Board will convene a meeting on Wednesday, December 15, 2021 at 6:00 p.m. on Zoom Meeting:865 1389 8579 there and then to act on the following agenda.

The public may access the meeting remotely by using a computer or telephone and follow the instructions below:

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/86513898579?pwd=dUhPSTILeE10RldRYloxTDBMVW9BZz09

Meeting ID: 865 1389 8579

Passcode: 448565

2. Consent Agenda 6:05

2.1 Consent Agenda

Warrants	AP2224, AP2224S, AP2223, AP2223S, AP2223Z, PR221, PR2212,
Part-time Financial Assistant Appointment	Melis Baliacilar
Declaration of Surplus Property	DPW roller and trailer, Crown pump, 2010 Ford Expedition
Declaration of Surplus Property	Fire Department 2007 Ford 500 sedan
Cemetery Appointment	Kathryn Kentfield
Police Officer Resignation	Harry Santiago
Proclamation for Stanley Fil	

Motion to approve the Consent Agenda.

Moved: Nevinsmith Second: Parsons

Roll call: Fill: Aye, Nevinsmith: Aye, Waskiewicz: Aye, Parsons: Aye.

Approved 4-0.



Extracted from the Consent Agenda are Police appointments recommended by Chief Mason. The biographies were presented by Meghan Cahill for Melissa Sika and Danielle Romeo for part-time emergency dispatchers.

Motion to hire both Melissa and Danielle as part-time emergency dispatchers.

Moved: Parsons Second: Nevinsmith

Roll call: Fill: Aye, Nevinsmith: Aye, Waskiewicz: Aye, Parsons: Aye.

Approved 4-0.

3. Public Comments - 6:10

3.1 Public Comments

Chief Mason provided a quick update on the recruiting and retention challenges he is facing like all other police departments in the Commonwealth. The Police reform Bill also discourages part-time policing. However, the Chief is recommending a policy that trains people have not had a lot of formal law enforcement training to backfill the needs of traffic details.

Motion to adopt the recommended policy of recruiting some part-time people without formal law enforcement training for traffic details after completing the appropriate training.

Moved: Parsons Second: Nevinsmith

Roll call: Fill: Aye, Nevinsmith: Aye, Waskiewicz: Aye, Parsons: Aye.

Approved 4-0.

4. New Business - 6:15

4.2 By- Law Committee Appointment 6:20

The Select Board will appoint the following members to the By-Law Committee:

Jim Maksimoski, Planning Board

Ann Hudson, Community member

Tim Neyhart, Community member

Dan Zdonek, Board of Assessors

Mitch Kuc, Police Department

Mike Spanknebel, Fire Department

Tom Quinlan, Building Inspector

Jessica Spanknebel, Town Clerk

David Fill, Select Board

Motion to approve the members of the committee.

Moved: Nevinsmith Second: Parsons

Roll call: Fill: Aye, Nevinsmith: Aye, Waskiewicz: Aye, Parsons: Aye.

Approved 4-0.



4.3 Opioid Settlement Agreement 6:25

Carolyn Brennan updated the Board stating that the Mass. Attorney General is contacting all cities and towns in the Commonwealth regarding the opportunity to register by January 2, 2022 to participate in 2 statewide opioid settlements and recommends that the Town become a participant in this agreement. Further stating that she will complete the online application if approved by the Board.

Motion to approve the Town's participation in the Opioid settlement agreement.

Moved: Parsons Second: Nevinsmith

Roll call: Fill: Aye, Nevinsmith: Aye, Waskiewicz: Aye, Parsons: Aye.

Approved 4-0.

5. Old Business

5.1 License Renewals 6:35

The Select Board is asked to approve the 2022 license renewals for - Alcohol Licenses, Common Vicutaller, Skating Rink, Entertainment, Theater, Automatic Amusements for the businesses in the attached Excel sheet.

Motion to approve the latest applicants for 2022 licenses.

Moved: Parsons Second: Nevinsmith

Roll call: Fill: Aye, Nevinsmith: Aye, Waskiewicz: Aye, Parsons: Aye.

Approved 4-0.

Jennifer Sanders James states that there are 11 businesses who have yet to submit renewal applications that are due by December 31, 2021. Those who do not meet the submission deadline will be penalized with a \$100 late fee. She will visit these businesses on December 17 with renewal packets.

6. Town Administrator Report

6.1 Town Administrator Report 6:40

Carolyn Brennan offers her Town Administrator report:

Sate Rep. Dan Carey had advocated for the Town of Hadley with an amendment to the ARPA Fund which was approved by the State House and Senate and due for the Governor's signature on December 20. The sum of \$100,000 will go towards the replacement of trailers, with an additional \$200,000 for other projects. Another \$50,000 was earmarked for the Police Department.

A large quantity of used furniture was donated by Hub International.

Woodard and Curran have initiated the inspection of the dike.



Carolyn Brennan will apply for State grant money starting on January 3, 2022. The two grants applied for in 2021 were not approved, but the State will provide an onsite debrief in January.

7. Other Items Not Anticipated 48 Hours in Advance

8. Announcements

Jane Nevinsmith announced that the Board of Health has accepted the resignation of the Public Health Nurse with a new Public Health Nurse to start part-time in January.

David Fill thanked the Park & Rec team for completing the framework for the outdoor skating rink behind Russell School.

Amy Parsons announced that the Festival Lights will take place on December 17 at 5:00 PM.

Park & Rec and the Police will be hosting lunch with Santa and Mrs. Claus on December 18 at 12:00 pm at the Elementary School.

9. Adjournment9.1 Adjournment

Motion to adjourn.

Moved: Parsons Second: Nevinsmith

Roll call: Fill: Aye, Nevinsmith: Aye, Waskiewicz: Aye, Parsons: Aye.

Approved 4-0.

Meeting was adjourned at 6:31 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Peter Lore and Jennifer Sanders James